Hello & welcome to Second Life I’m January Featherwore.

 

secondlife-coke

Yea right. I don’t use SecondLife, but I know there are a ton of people who do. Although not as many as what they likely hoped would use it. But, none the less it is popular and they do have their own audience. 

And, there aren’t just people using SecondLife companies are as well. Why? Well silly, to advertise of course. 

secondlife

 

Who knew…not only can one be bombarded by advertisements in real life through commercials, billboards, bus benches, radio ads, theatre, etc. but now one can also be bombarded in their virtual life as well. 

And it doesn’t just stop with advertisements. Oh no. Companies are building their own islands, like Coke and Ford. They are enticing people to hang out at their facilities, stop by for a visit and on some (rare) occasions even conducting interviews on Second Life. Call me a purest, but I think it’s gotten a little out of hand. I can completely understand taking advantage of advertising virtually, and I can equally understand paying for a piece of Internet real estate to get your name out there…but to conduct interviews? Seriously. I think people are taking this social networking online thing a little too far. And some, they rarely even leave their houses. 

Check out this ploy to help those addicted to Second Life found on www.secondlifeinsider.com

Are you addicted to SL? When you walk down the street in RL, do you find yourself trying to right-click people to see their details? Do you walk in RL at all? Do you say out loud things like ‘LOL’ or ‘AFK’? Do you yearn for teleportation? 

Okay, that last one is not necessarily SL-related; I’ve wished for teleportation for decades. But have you found your SL to be more compelling than your RL? And if you do spend the lion’s share of your time in SL, do you feel it to be a problem? Being the misanthrope that I am, this one wasn’t too difficult to answer for myself, though I wouldn’t qualify it as a ‘problem’, necessarily. I can quit anytime I want! But then, that’s what all addicts say, isn’t it?

Did you know there was a Center for Internet Addiction Recovery? When does a hobby become an obsession?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

